Aktuelle BesetzungInstrument
Jacopo MeilleVocals
Micky CrystalGuitar
Robb Weir Guitar
Gav GrayBass
Craig EllisDrums

The NWoBHM legend TYGERS OF PAN TANG was originally formed in 1978 by Robb Weir (guitar) who then recruited Brian Dick (drums), Rocky (real name Richard Laws, bass), and Jess Cox (vocals). Rapidly building a local following from relentless touring, they were first signed up by local independent label Neat Records who released the debut single Don’t Touch Me There before MCA gave them a major record deal. The Band released their debut album `Wild Cat` in 1980. Also in 1980 John Sykes (later of Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake) was added as a second guitarist to compliment the musical direction the band wanted to pursue. Jess Cox was replaced by Persian Risk vocalist Jon Deverill and this line up released the Classic LP `Spellbound` in 1981. The album was critically acclaimed and loved by the fans. Instead of promoting `Spellbound` to the full with worldwide touring the record company wanted the band to record a third album almost straight away which produced the under-rated 'Crazy Nights' album. The frustration became apparent within the band and shortly after recording Crazy Nights and just before the start of a European tour John Sykes decided to leave. The band approached ex-Penetration guitarist Fred Purser who had to learn the set in two days before the tour began. The bands fourth album `The Cage` (1982) was their most accomplished effort so far and the future looked promising. Unfortunately again the record company intervened and were not prepared to promote the band unless they agreed to play more cover recordings (this followed the band's worldwide hit with `Love Potion No. 9`). The band tried to break free from their contract to concentrate on their own material, but MCA's demands exceeded the willingness of any other record company to buy out the contract and the band broke up in frustration. In 2001, Robb Weir decided to reform the band as a going concern, despite being the only original member. Robb wanted to keep the Tygers name alive, play the music he loves and to play for the fans that he had remained close to. In 2008 the band released their real comeback album `Animal Instinct` and the reviews were spectacular. 2010 was regarded as the 30th Anniversary of NWOBHM, this saw the Tygers celebrate the 30th Anniversary of their debut release `Wildcat` and to commemorate this, the band re-recorded five tracks from the `Wildcat` album and called the release `The Wildcat Sessions` EP. In 2011 the second installment of the Sessions EP was released `The Spellbound Sessions EP', and one years later TYGERS OF PAN TANG started to record their album 'Ambush' joined by producer legend Chris Tsangarides - an excellent effort and full of the classic spirit the band is loved for by their fans. More re-recorded classics and the eponymous 'Tygers Of Pan Tang' followed and in 2018, you will be able to see them live on stage: at BANG YOUR HEAD!!!

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.