Country of origin:Formed in:


Current line upInstrument
Yukio MorikawaVocals
Akio ShimizuGuitar
Naoto ShibataBass
Isamu TamaruDrums
Formed in Tokyo in 1981, ANTHEM turned heads with their intense and heated performances. They released their major debut, »Anthem« in 1985 and continued to tour relentlessly. The band's popularity grew with the release of their 2nd album, »Tightrope« (1986), and they were able to break into the American market with their 3rd full length, »Bound To Break« (1987). Vocalist Eizo Sakamoto left shortly after, and was replaced by Yukio Morikawa for »Gypsy Ways« (1988) and »Hunting Time« (1989), both extremely successful releases which cemented their reputation as leaders of Japanese traditional heavy metal. . Following the release of »No Smoke Without Fire« (1990) and »Domestic Booty« (1992), the band disbanded, though. Its return was spurred by 2000’s »Heavy Metal Anthem« - an album of ANTHEM songs rearranged by Naoto and Akio, featuring Graham Bonnet’s vocals. Its release and subsequent Japan tour led to huge demand among fans for an ANTHEM comeback. Instead of reforming the original lineup, Shibata decided to move forward by writing new music with a new lineup of Akio Shimizu (guitar), Eizo Sakamoto (vocals) and Hirotsugu Honma (drums). They released a total of 5 studio albums between 2001 and 2010 - »Seven Hills«, »Overload«, »Eternal Warrior«, »Black Empire« and »Heraldic Device« - proving that ANTHEM was very much an “active” band. In 2018, ANTHEM have signed with Nuclear Blast Records (Europe) and Golden Robot Records (US & Australia) to break into the worldwide market. The first release will be their greatest hits album, completely rerecorded with English lyrics, and now they are finally about to conquer Europa live as well, playing a few selected shows in 2020 including their appearance at BANG YOUR HEAD!!! 2020.

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.